Blurring the Line Between PC and Web

One of the big things at Microsoft is our software-plus-services strategy.  The work being driven by our Chief Software Architect Ray Ozzie is a key way we’re going to be thinking about the experience we all have when using our PC.  When we talk to customers today, they already see this as the next logical step in computing, and many people don’t even draw the distinction between what’s on their local PC and what they are doing on the web.  It is just one seamless experience (or at least it should be).

In the Windows group where I work, we’re seeing this software-plus-services strategy factoring into the work we do with the Windows operating system, Windows Live, and Windows Mobile.  I noticed this just the other day when I was exploring the desktop personalization options inside Windows 7 RC.  You’ll notice a little link (highlighted in this illustration):

Clicking on that link takes you to a great Personalize your PC page on the Windows website:

Now this might seem like a fairly small step in the broader world of software-plus-services.  It’s just a link after all.  But to me, it’s an important step.  One of the things people like to do most with their PC is personalize it.  The easier we can make it for anyone to do that personalization, the better off we all are.  The other thing I like about this is the possibilities for partners.  Imagine the ability to showcase themes and gadgets from Microsoft and our partners as part of this page, perhaps fitting in with seasons or events.   What better way to welcome autumn than a new slideshow theme and desktop gadget for the NFL Season? 

I’m not sure what all the future holds for software-plus-services in Windows, but that’s part of the excitement of it all!

What other great examples of software-plus-services have you seen?

Marcus, Windows Community Manager

2 Responses to “Blurring the Line Between PC and Web”

  1. Unknown Says:

    Maybe I read this wrong and I don\’t want to go through it again, but didn\’t we all go through the custom theme era Windows? It\’s not that big of a deal. 🙂 Although gimme some and i\’ll fold into it like i did back in the day.

  2. Jen Says:

    I saw Zune and xBox when I clicked your top link. To personalise, I fell in love with Wallpapers from MSN and still have it running. I must be getting close to a year\’s worth of running it. My Desktop always looks a treat with their pictures. Wouldn\’t mind having a go with Zune. Are we UK lot getting it, Marcus?There have been some changes with Office Online. T\’was a simple setup when it first crept in. Now, it\’s a bit more fiddly, but extremely useful. What I WOULD love is for my WMP to give me the ability to print off my playlists straight from the player. Any chance of that would be a big bonus as I have lots to plan for where Radio is concerned.

Leave a comment